Chocolatespoon: Emily’s Musings

The Distant Land of My Father

Posted on: January 16, 2008

distantland.jpgFinally finished off The Distant Land of My Father this afternoon (Clara seems to be in a bit of a growth spurt, so there has been more time than usual to sit around feeding her and sometimes that even means being able to get a bit of reading in… though still pretty rarely)  As I mentioned before, it is both this year’s Silicon Valley Reads pick and the February book in our book club at work (which I will be back at work in time for.)  It was a really wonderful read and drew me in from the start (today’s bit left me in tears.)  I’m going to try to see the author at the Feb. 28 event, one of the many happening over the next few weeks (but actually the used copy I bought online is already signed!) 

Like most of our book club picks (even though I picked this one), it wasn’t one I probably ever would have picked up on my own but which I am very glad I did!

2 Responses to "The Distant Land of My Father"

Have you read “Those Who Save Us”? I noticed that on the Amazon page for this one as “customers also bought…” – I randomly picked that up not too long ago, and read it in one day. That’s pretty rare for me anymore, I either get bored and take breaks, or I read myself to sleep at night so it takes a while. But I couldn’t put this one down.

I just got The Distant Land at P&P and looking forward to reading it this weekend!

Leave a Reply

RSS Twitter Updates

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

del.icio.us Links

Flickr Photos

Archives

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 55,584 hits

Help Find Playgrounds!

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('41c67c94-45a5-406f-9028-2e3b34edf724');Get the Contest Widget widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox!
