Chocolatespoon: Emily’s Musings

Notable Books

Posted on: December 3, 2006

I’ve read two of The 10 Best Books of 2006 (according to today’s NY Times list) — Special Topics in Calamity Physics, which I loved, and The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals, which I finished off last night.

From their list of 100 Notable Books of the Year, there were the two from above plus The Gate of the Sun, which we read for book club (but which I didn’t actually make it all the way through)

The Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan was really excellent, and I highly recommend it to anyone who cares about what they’re eating (or isn’t, and really should be). I had no idea how much of our diet was based on corn!

I also recently listened to The Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion, which was so well written (and not as hard to get through as I thought given the subject matter). I’m currently listening to The Tenth Circle and am not sure which book off the big pile I’ll read next.

1 Response to "Notable Books"

Ok, I’m so behind in book reading (blame it on the 2 kids, but it’s really the crap tv I’m willing to watch) but just finished The Time-Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. So good. So very very good. OK, it’s not perfect and I know much of the criticism. But what a good overall effect. What should I read next? (I’ve just started “Shadow of the Wind” which looks somewhat promising.)

Leave a Reply

RSS Twitter Updates

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

del.icio.us Links

Flickr Photos

Archives

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 55,610 hits

Help Find Playgrounds!

if (WIDGETBOX) WIDGETBOX.renderWidget('41c67c94-45a5-406f-9028-2e3b34edf724');Get the Contest Widget widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox!
